Aside

“But in a little while it may strike you as a small miracle that you have someone in your life, whose taste you admire (after all, this person loves you and your work), who will tell you the truth and help you stay on the straight and narrow, or help you find your way if you are lost.
Bird By Bird, Anne Lamott

I am one of the lucky ones.  Lucky enough to have found in my husband someone who sees inside of me and who nurtures me in a way no one else can.  When he looks at my attempts to create art in different mediums he doesn’t see elementary attempts to create, he sees masterpieces.  For the last few years I have dabbled in watercolor and pastel very non-prolifically.  Creating, entering local shows, meeting colorful characters in the art community and learning – always learning – has become a mild passion of mine.  I hope you enjoy accompanying me along my journey.

GIRL IN A HAT

I drew this little girl from a photo I found on the internet years ago.  After a few attempts it was put away in the closet for a few more years and brought out about a year ago to work on as a class project.  I never bond with or like my art at the beginnings and this one was a bit too washed out for my taste, but after bringing in the darks and a little help with the tears I find myself very fond of it.  I especially like the light on the straw hat and the beads on the shoulders and neck.   Girl in a Hat is used as the background for this blog.

Igniting the Creative Spark Within

4 responses »

  1. What a well written, thoughtful, and beautiful write up! And of course the painting – completely stunning. I’d love to see posts as you go along of your process as well as the finished product. Great blog!!!

Leave a Reply

