Head Shots

Standard

“A daughter is a gift of love, a little girl who grows up to be your best friend.”  ~Author Unknown (and revised by me)

My daughter was raised and educated in Texas (with a short stint in the UK).  When we moved to Pennsylvania for a few years she refused to spend her summer college breaks there.  Being the adventurous spirit that she is, she applied for a nanny position in Croatia and went there instead.  The following summer break she worked as a nanny in Honolulu where she met her now husband.  During the years of their courtship they traveled the world together and wherever they were they would send me a head shot of the two of them taken with some beautiful or historic scenic spot behind them.  After they were engaged I sent them two hats – one for the bride and one for the groom.  This watercolor is the result of one of their head shots sent to me which they took while wearing their hats overlooking Hanauma Bay, on the island of Oahu where they now live.   I miss having her close but am happy that she is looked after and cherished by such a loving man.

HEADS OVER HANAUMA

I enjoyed painting this watercolor, forming clouds and portraying the Bishop Museum emblems on the t-shirt (if you visit Honolulu visit the Bishop Museum – it’s very well worth the time).  My biggest challenge with this painting was the bill of the hat and the sunglasses.  If you look closely you can see my daughter’s eyes through her sunglasses and her husband’s arm and camera reflected in his sunglasses.  They are on a bluff overlooking one of my favorite places in Hawaii where we have spent some wonderful days together snorkeling and relaxing.

This is the reference photo I used for my painting.  I really do not think anyone can capture the beauty of Hawaii (or these particular subjects) in photo or with paint.

Leave a Reply

