Take Down That Photo !!!

Standard

“And no greater treasure has brought homes more joy
Than a curious, active, and lovable boy! “    Author Unknown

My son is in the U.S. Air Force and flies B52 Bombers out of Minot, ND (Brrrrr) and soon from Guam.  When he was in training and during his first solo, he took a photo of himself with his phone while up in the clouds and sent it to me – big mistake.  Being an avid Facebooker I posted it immediately – much like any other proud parent would do.  Around midnight, long after falling asleep, the telephone rang and without any preliminary greeting or even a welcoming “Hello Mum,” I was told to “TAKE DOWN THAT PHOTO“…… apparently, it’s against regulations to photograph yourself during your student solos!  Hmmmm, I wonder why?   I’m still a proud supportive parent and also proud that he showed me the stern, demanding side of him that I thankfully do not see.  To me he will always be the chubby cheeked little boy I love to hug, all six plus feet of him.

HANG LOOSE

This watercolor was very difficult to do as the original photo was quite dark and you normally don’t see any land behind clouds, it’s usually a big blue sky.  I know the gear is probably not drawn completely correct but I am sure that the viewer gets the idea.  I was happy with the shadow in the bottom left and also with the mask over the nose.  Somehow, I do believe I found the sunlight glint to make it realistic and, as you can see, I did take artistic license with the hand.  This photo below is the reference photo AND the photo that I had to take down from Facebook ….

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

